Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.
أجهزة ومعدات

How to Delete Your LinkedIn Account Forever


LinkedIn is a popular professional networking platform. Millions of people use this social media app daily to connect with companies, look for new job opportunities, or find colleagues in a similar field. However, not everyone finds LinkedIn beneficial. If you want to slim down your social media presence, you may want to learn how to delete your LinkedIn account. Luckily, this guide can help you delete it for good.

Tip: these common LinkedIn mistakes could explain why the platform isn’t working for you.

What Happens Once You Delete Your LinkedIn Account?

Learning how to delete your LinkedIn account is relatively easy. You can often delete your account, then reopen it within 14 days if you change your mind. However, plenty of things will disappear permanently when you delete it.

  • Access to any of your connections.
  • All recommendations and endorsements, including the ones you’ve given others.
  • Your profile will no longer be visible.
  • Access to all messages in your mailbox.

Due to the way the Internet works, search engines may still temporarily display your information. This will automatically disappear when your profile is crawled again by Google or Bing, wiping it from the Web forever. If you want to keep your information, LinkedIn lets you download a copy of your data before you close your account.

However, a few things could delay closing your LinkedIn account or prevent complete account closure. For example, if you have a premium membership or own a LinkedIn group, you must cancel the membership or transfer the group to someone else, and switch to a Basic membership before you can cancel.

Also helpful: enable two-factor authentication on LinkedIn to secure your account.

How to Delete Your LinkedIn From a Desktop

  1. Log in to your LinkedIn account, and click on your profile photo in the top right.
  1. Click on “Settings & Privacy.”
  1. Scroll down to the bottom of your Account Preferences page, and click “Close account.”
LinkedIn Account Management
  1. Read the disclaimer, and click “Continue.”
LinkedIn Close Account Continue
  1. Select a reason for closing your account, and click “Next.”
LinkedIn Close Account Confirm Menu
  1. Enter your LinkedIn password, and click “Done” to finalize the action.
LinkedIn Enter Password to Close Account

If successful, you’ll receive an email from LinkedIn to confirm the closure, along with the steps to take to reinstate your account if you change your mind within 14 days. In most cases, you can cancel your request to delete your LinkedIn account by logging back in to your account or following the link provided in the email.

Pro tip: tired of all those LinkedIn emails? Learn how to unsubscribe from them all at once.

How to Delete Your LinkedIn Account From the Mobile App

Follow the steps below to learn how to delete your LinkedIn account on your mobile device. It’s similar to the desktop instructions and identical on iOS and Android devices.

  1. Open the LinkedIn app, and tap on your profile picture.
Linkedin Mobile Profile Menu
  1. Tap on “Settings.”
Linkedin Mobile Settings
  1. Tap on “Account Preferences.”
Linkedin Mobile Account Preferences
  1. Under “Account Management,” scroll to the bottom, and tap “Close account.”
Linkedin Mobile Account Management
  1. Read the disclaimer, and tap “Continue.”
Linkedin Mobile Close Account
  1. Select the reason for closing your account, and tap “Next.”
Linkedin Mobile Continue Closing Account
  1. Enter your account password, and tap “Done” to complete the request.
Linkedin Mobile Confirm Closing Account

As with the desktop version, you’ll receive an email from LinkedIn to confirm the closure and the steps to take if you change your mind within 14 days.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long will it take for LinkedIn to delete my account data permanently?

When you go through the steps to delete your LinkedIn account, your details and account information are placed in hibernation for 14 days, just in case you change your mind. Once this 14-day window lapses, you will deactivate LinkedIn, and the company will permanently delete your data.

Can I delete my LinkedIn account without knowing the password or email address?

No, you’ll need those details to close your account. However, there are several ways to retrieve your password if you have access to the email address. If you don’t know the email address you used to sign up for LinkedIn, you must contact LinkedIn’s customer service to prove your identity.

Can I deactivate my LinkedIn account instead of deleting it?

Yes. Follow these steps if you want to know how to deactivate your LinkedIn account. You can put it into hibernation for as long as you wish. Your profile will become invisible, and your previous actions will be attributed to “a LinkedIn member.” To put your account in hibernation, click on “Me -> Settings & Privacy -> Account Management -> Hibernate account.” You can reactivate your account only after 24 hours by following the same steps.

Image credit: Unsplash. All screenshots by Charlie Fripp.

Charlie Fripp
Charlie Fripp

Charlie Fripp is a technology writer with a strong focus on consumer gadgets, video games, and cyber security. He holds an undergraduate degree in professional journalism and has worked as a journalist for over 15 years. In his spare time, he enjoys playing various musical instruments and gardening.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Our latest tutorials delivered straight to your inbox

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى